From Penguin Publisher:

For fans of Stephen King, Neil Gaiman, American Horror Story and The Walking Dead comes a powerhouse anthology featuring some of the best thriller and horror writers in YA.

A host of the sharpest young adult authors come together in this collection of terrifying tales and psychological thrillers. Each author draws from a mix of literature, film, television, and music to create something new and fresh and unsettling. Clever readers will love teasing out the references and can satisfy their curiosity at the end of each tale, where the inspiration is revealed. There are no superficial scares here; these are stories that will make you think even as they keep you on the edge of your seat. From blood horror, to the supernatural, to unsettling, all-too-possible realism, this collection has something for anyone looking for an absolute thrill.

Of Megan Shepherd's short story "Hide-and-Seek:

"A teen girl, murdered by her stepfather, plays with death in an action-packed race against time in Megan Shepherd’s stellar “Hide-and-Seek.”
--Kirkus Reviews

 

What People Are Saying

"If your idea of an excellent summer night is telling ghost stories around the campfire, you'll be jumping for (horrific) joy over Slasher Girls & Monster Boys."
—Bustle

“Terrifying and new . . . There’s nary a clunker in the collection—this is satisfying, disturbing horror for the modern YA audience.”
—Publishers Weekly

“Murderous neighbors, creepy bathtubs, and lots of blood . . . Full of thrills and chills [and] gross, creepy fun.”
—Kirkus Reviews

"This killer collection will satisfy any thriller junkie."
—Booklist Online 

"Satisfyingly diverse and compelling. . . . The majority of the protagonists are female [but] not one is a helpless victim. Many contributors subvert and complicate the roles of protagonist and antagonist, keeping readers on their toes . . . After encountering the horrors here, variously supernatural and disturbingly human, readers may want to leave the lights on.
—The Horn Book

“Will scare, thrill, and terrify."
—VOYA 

“A ton of terrifying mini thrillers that take inspiration from classic stories. There’s a bit of supernatural in here, some gore-filled-horror, terrifying creatures . . . something for everybody.”
—Book Riot